Going West. 3 years ago

by Igo My Way

1096 days, or 3 years ago I  said goodbye to my dear friends and host family in Colorado, USA and came back to where it all started, my home country Russia.Yes, I was an exchange student once and spent 10 months in the States, living in the host family and going to the High School nearby.

Exactly 3 years have passed since then, and I still consider that year in the US as one of the best years in my life that completely changed me. It was the first time I travelled alone, the first time I visited America, the first time I celebrated Christmas and New Year without my family and friends, the first time I really missed my beloved ones… it was the first time I tried rice crispy and went to Starbucks for crying out loud!

I basically came nowhere because I didn’t know much about the country, the city I was going to live in. I didn’t know the family I was going to spend 10 months with. I had no friends there, no shoulder to cry on or someone to laugh with. It was just me. And that’s when I realized that sometimes in your life you wouldn’t be surrounded by the people that love you and care about you. Sometimes you would have to accept  what’s going on in your life, even if you don’t like it; you would have to face it and deal with it. It took me several months to realize that and actually begin to enjoy my staying in the States.

When I arrived at the Denver International Airport in August, 2008 I wanted to come back home immediately. In May 2009 it was time to go back home, and I didn’t want to leave. But I had to. I said good bye to my host family, to my friends, not knowing when I would come back to the States to see them again. 3 years have passed. And I finally arrive at the Denver International Airport just like 3 years ago and I see those I dearly love and miss. Finally reunited. Pure happiness.

May 21, 2012

